Where it ranks
- No monthly fee
- Contract: 30 days notice, renews automatically
- Not every price is published
- Card rate not published
Why 5.0
- No commission on orders
- Contract: 30 days notice, renews automatically
- Not every price is published
Why 3.0
Prices and fees
Toast
Restaurant POS built for food service.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Starter Kithardware kit with no upfront cost, cloud point of sale, one location and a small number of terminals; hardware cost recovered through the all-in-one Pay-as-You-Go platform rate (card rate not published) | Free |
| Point of Salecloud point of sale, custom hardware configuration, add-ons available; flat-rate processing | $69/mo |
| In-person card rate | Not published |
|---|
Toast Online Ordering
Toast's online ordering, added to a Toast POS.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Plans | Not published |
| Commission on orders | 0% |
|---|
Contract and leaving
| Contract | 30 days notice, renews automatically |
|---|---|
| Notice to cancel | At least 30 days written notice of intent not to renew before the end of the then-current Term (either party) |
| Renews automatically | Yes, the contract renews automatically |
| Early exit fee | Remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee |
| Hardware terms | Hardware is purchased under an Order and may be financed through a third-party lender, whose credit agreement Toast can purchase on default |
Leaving early, in Toast's words
“Unless otherwise agreed to by Toast, Merchant acknowledges and agrees that it may terminate this Agreement at any time following the Effective Date, provided that Merchant shall remain responsible for payment of all Fees for Services provided by Toast through the effective date of termination. Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay (a) an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”), and (b) any applicable processing fee related to Software financing.”pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
Who owns your customer data
Merchant owns all Merchant Data, licensed to Toast.
“Merchant owns all Merchant Data. Merchant hereby grants to Toast a non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully paid up, and worldwide license to use, copy, modify (including the right to create derivative works of), display and transmit Merchant Data solely in connection with the Services including the development of potential offerings or other future products and services under consideration by Toast (whether developed independently by Toast or through a third party).”pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
Compare Toast
Ranked next to it in best restaurant POS systems in the US
Toast: questions owners ask
How much does Toast cost in the US?
Toast: Starter Kit is free, Point of Sale $69/mo. Toast Online Ordering: Toast gives a price only on request.
Does Toast have a free plan?
Yes: Toast's Starter Kit plan has no monthly fee.
What card fees does Toast charge?
We did not find an in-person card rate on Toast's own pages.
Does Toast take commission on orders?
Toast: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Toast Online Ordering: No, it publishes 0% commission.
Is there a contract with Toast?
30 days notice, renews automatically.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel Toast?
At least 30 days written notice of intent not to renew before the end of the then-current Term (either party).
Does Toast renew automatically?
Yes, the contract renews automatically.
What does it cost to leave Toast early?
Remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee. The clause is quoted in full on this page.
Who owns my customer data on Toast?
Merchant owns all Merchant Data, licensed to Toast.
Do I need to buy hardware for Toast?
Hardware is purchased under an Order and may be financed through a third-party lender, whose credit agreement Toast can purchase on default.
What does Toast connect to?
We did not find an integration list on Toast's own pages.
Where does Toast rank?
#5 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US, 5.0/10 (as Toast). #4 of 5 in best online ordering systems for US restaurants, 3.0/10 (as Toast Online Ordering).
What are the alternatives to Toast?
Ranked next to it: Shopify POS (#3, 8.0/10), TouchBistro (#4, 5.0/10), Clover (#6, 3.0/10).
Is Toast better than Square?
On our score, Toast has 5.0/10 and Square 9.0/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.
Is Toast better than Clover?
On our score, Toast has 5.0/10 and Clover 3.0/10. Toast scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.
Is Toast better than TouchBistro?
On our score, Toast has 5.0/10 and TouchBistro 5.0/10. They are level. The head to head compares them line by line.
Where every figure on this page comes from
Toast
- Starter Kit plan. “Starter Kit Starting at $0 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Point of Sale plan. “Point Of Sale Starting at $69 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “shall automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “either party may terminate an Order, and this Agreement with respect to such Order, by providing at least thirty (30) days’ written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”)” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise agreed to by Toast, Merchant acknowledges and agrees that it may terminate this Agreement at any time following the Effective Date, provided that Merchant shall remain responsible for payment of all Fees for Services provided by Toast through the effective date of termination. Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay (a) an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”), and (b) any applicable processing fee related to Software financing.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data. Merchant hereby grants to Toast a non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully paid up, and worldwide license to use, copy, modify (including the right to create derivative works of), display and transmit Merchant Data solely in connection with the Services including the development of potential offerings or other future products and services under consideration by Toast (whether developed independently by Toast or through a third party).” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “If Merchant elects to finance Hardware through a third-party lender and, either (a) fails to consummate the financing transaction with such lender, or (b) due to Merchant's default or any other purpose, Toast purchases the related credit agreement from such lender” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on pos.toasttab.com/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Toast Online Ordering
- Commission on orders. “Toast Online Ordering helps you turn hungry searches into repeat orders to fuel lasting growth. No commissions. No hidden fees.” pos.toasttab.com/products/online-ordering, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “shall automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “either party may terminate an Order, and this Agreement with respect to such Order, by providing at least thirty (30) days’ written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”)” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise agreed to by Toast, Merchant acknowledges and agrees that it may terminate this Agreement at any time following the Effective Date, provided that Merchant shall remain responsible for payment of all Fees for Services provided by Toast through the effective date of termination. Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay (a) an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”), and (b) any applicable processing fee related to Software financing.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data. Merchant hereby grants to Toast a non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully paid up, and worldwide license to use, copy, modify (including the right to create derivative works of), display and transmit Merchant Data solely in connection with the Services including the development of potential offerings or other future products and services under consideration by Toast (whether developed independently by Toast or through a third party).” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “If Merchant elects to finance Hardware through a third-party lender and, either (a) fails to consummate the financing transaction with such lender, or (b) due to Merchant's default or any other purpose, Toast purchases the related credit agreement from such lender” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plan prices, card rate: not published. Not stated on pos.toasttab.com/products/online-ordering when read on 9 Oct 2026.