Home / US / Best restaurant POS systems in the US
Toast vs TouchBistro
Plan prices, card rates and contracts in the US, side by side, from each vendor's own website.
Toast
Restaurant POS built for food service.
5.0/10#5 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US
Read more about ToastVisit ToastTouchBistro
iPad POS for restaurants.

#4 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in the US
Read more about TouchBistroVisit TouchBistroWhich one?
Choose Toast if
- Cheaper to start: no monthly fee against from $69/mo
Choose TouchBistro if
- Publishes more of its prices
Side by side
| Line | Toast | TouchBistro |
|---|---|---|
| Our score | 5.0 / 10 | 5.0 / 10 |
| Starts at | No monthly fee | From $69/mo |
| Plans | Starter Kit: Free; Point of Sale: $69/mo | Point of Sale: $69/mo; Essentials Bundle: $119/mo |
| In-person card rate | Not published | Not published |
| Online card rate | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commission on orders | Not published | 0% |
| Contract | 30 days notice, renews automatically | Term set in your quote, renews automatically |
| Early exit fee | Remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee | Not stated |
| Hardware from | Not stated | Not stated |
| Last checked | 9 Oct 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
“Not published” and “Not stated” mean the vendor's own pricing and terms pages did not give the figure when we read them; the sources below name each page and date. Hover a figure to see the vendor's words.
How the scores add up
Toast: 5.0
TouchBistro: 5.0
Same formula for every system. How we score
Toast vs TouchBistro: questions owners ask
Which is cheaper to start, Toast or TouchBistro?
Toast: no monthly fee. TouchBistro: from $69/mo.
Which has the lower card rate?
Toast: we did not find an in-person card rate on Toast's own pages. TouchBistro: we did not find an in-person card rate on TouchBistro's own pages.
What do they charge on online payments?
Toast: we did not find an online card rate on Toast's own pages. TouchBistro: we did not find an online card rate on TouchBistro's own pages.
Do Toast or TouchBistro take commission on orders?
Toast: we did not find a commission figure on Toast's own pages. TouchBistro: 0% commission.
Which has the more flexible contract?
Toast: 30 days notice, renews automatically. TouchBistro: term set in your quote, renews automatically.
How much notice do they need to cancel?
Toast: at least 30 days written notice of intent not to renew before the end of the then-current Term (either party). TouchBistro: we did not find a notice period on TouchBistro's own pages.
Do their contracts renew automatically?
Toast: yes, the contract renews automatically. TouchBistro: yes, the contract renews automatically.
What does it cost to leave early?
Toast: remaining Software Subscription Fees for the rest of the current Term, or for a Pay-as-you-go subscription 150 dollars multiplied by the months remaining; plus any Software financing processing fee. TouchBistro: we did not find an early exit fee on TouchBistro's own pages.
Who owns my customer data?
Toast: merchant owns all Merchant Data, licensed to Toast. TouchBistro: we did not find a data ownership term on TouchBistro's own pages.
Do I need to buy hardware?
Toast: we did not find a hardware price on Toast's own pages. TouchBistro: we did not find a hardware price on TouchBistro's own pages.
Which publishes more of its prices?
Toast: some prices published. TouchBistro: all plan prices published.
Which scores higher, Toast or TouchBistro?
Toast 5.0/10 and TouchBistro 5.0/10 on the same formula: prices published, entry price, fees and contract. The breakdown on this page shows where each point comes from.
Should I choose Toast or TouchBistro?
Choose Toast for: cheaper to start: no monthly fee against from $69/mo. Choose TouchBistro for: publishes more of its prices. Then check the features you need on each vendor's own site: the score covers price and terms only.
Where every figure on this page comes from
Toast
- Starter Kit plan. “Starter Kit Starting at $0 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Point of Sale plan. “Point Of Sale Starting at $69 /month” pos.toasttab.com/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “shall automatically renew for successive one (1) year periods” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “either party may terminate an Order, and this Agreement with respect to such Order, by providing at least thirty (30) days’ written notice of its intent not to renew prior to the end of the then-current Term” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”)” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Unless otherwise agreed to by Toast, Merchant acknowledges and agrees that it may terminate this Agreement at any time following the Effective Date, provided that Merchant shall remain responsible for payment of all Fees for Services provided by Toast through the effective date of termination. Additionally, Merchant shall incur and pay (a) an early termination fee equal to either (i) the remaining Fees for Software Subscription Fees that would have otherwise been due for the remainder of the then-current Term, or ii) for a Pay-as-you-go subscription, one-hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) multiplied by the number of months remaining in the then-current Term, as applicable (“Early Termination Fee”), and (b) any applicable processing fee related to Software financing.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data.” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Merchant owns all Merchant Data. Merchant hereby grants to Toast a non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully paid up, and worldwide license to use, copy, modify (including the right to create derivative works of), display and transmit Merchant Data solely in connection with the Services including the development of potential offerings or other future products and services under consideration by Toast (whether developed independently by Toast or through a third party).” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “If Merchant elects to finance Hardware through a third-party lender and, either (a) fails to consummate the financing transaction with such lender, or (b) due to Merchant's default or any other purpose, Toast purchases the related credit agreement from such lender” pos.toasttab.com/merchant-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
- Card rate, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on pos.toasttab.com/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.
TouchBistro
- Point of Sale plan. “TouchBistro’s Point of Sale bundle starts at $69 per month and includes our full suite of POS software.” touchbistro.com/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Essentials Bundle plan. “starting at $119 /month” touchbistro.com/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders. “No, TouchBistro does not charge any commission fees on online orders, unlike other third-party providers.” touchbistro.com/pricing/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “the term of the TouchBistro Services Agreement will automatically renew for a period equivalent to the period of the Initial Term” touchbistro.com/terms-of-service/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Contract length. “number of months following the Effective Date as is specified in the Sales Quote beside the heading “Initial Term”” touchbistro.com/terms-of-service/, read 12 Oct 2026
- Card rate: not published. Not stated on touchbistro.com/pricing/ when read on 12 Oct 2026.