Where it ranks
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 2.5%
- Cancel anytime
Why 9.0
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Cancel anytime
- Commission not published
Why 8.0
Prices and fees
Square
Point of sale for restaurants from Square.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Freesell in person, online, over the phone or in the field; no setup or monthly fees, only transaction rates | Free |
| Plusadvanced features for restaurants, retailers or appointment-based businesses; cancel anytime | $35/mo |
| In-person card rate | 2.5% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 2.8% + 30¢ |
| Free plan | Yes |
Square Online
Online ordering for pickup and delivery from Square.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Freeturn your business into an online business; website builder with SEO tools and sync with Square POS | Free |
| Plusdrive growth and streamline operations; all Free plan features plus website themes | $36/mo, billed yearly |
| Premiumscale with the best rates and advanced features; all Plus plan features plus a lower processing rate | $99/mo, billed yearly |
| In-person card rate | 2.5% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 2.8% + 30¢ |
| Commission on orders | Not published |
| Free plan | Yes |
What Square says its products do
From 10 posts on Square's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Square's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.
What Square says about its point of sale app
Square says Square for Restaurants is live in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Spain and Australia.3 Square says it released its new Point of Sale app in Canada, with its commerce and payments tools in one app.8 It says the app has seven modes, and three of them are for food and beverage.8 Square says its Seat Management feature lets servers handle late guest additions and seat changes.5 It says House Accounts lets sellers offer trusted customers the option to pay later, with invoicing and balance visibility.5
On our rate card Square: No monthly fee; card rate: 2.5%.
What Square says about the Square Register
Square's blog describes the Register as its premium countertop POS, an all-in-one device.6 It says the second generation has a faster chipset with 3x the performance, 2x the memory and 4x the storage of the previous model.6 Square says the Register's antenna is built into the Square logo.6 It says the software was tuned for the new hardware, so speed gains reach payments, inventory and daily reports.6 The company says it redesigned the glass enclosure for durability while keeping the screen responsive.6
What Square says about Square Handheld and tableside service
Square says it launched Square Handheld in Canada, a pocketable device that weighs 0.34 kg and is 1.6 cm thick.7 It says full-service restaurants can use it to take orders at the table or from across the bar.7 Square says the device has a battery that lasts all day, plus Wi-Fi and offline payment capability.7 It says a camera with barcode scanning lets food and beverage businesses photograph and scan retail items such as merchandise or bottles of wine.7 Square says Item Splitting helps staff divide a bill among guests, and pre-authorized bar tabs give bars added security against loss.7
What Square says about Square Kiosk
Square says it launched Square Kiosk in Canada for self-serve ordering at quick-service restaurants.9 It says the kiosk mounts on a countertop or wall, or attaches to a floor stand.9 Square says guests customise and place orders on the kiosk, which has embedded contactless and chip payments.9 It says the kiosk works with Square for Restaurants and syncs menu updates instantly.9 Square says Oakberry Açaí tried the kiosk at its Vancouver store on English Bay Beach.9
What Square says about QR code ordering and Scan to Pay
Square says its QR code ordering and Square Handheld both connect ordering with payment.4 It says guests use their own smartphones for QR code ordering.4 Square says orders from the table reach the kitchen at once when a venue uses Square for Restaurants.4 Square says its Scan to Pay QR codes on receipts let customers scan and settle up without waiting for a server.7 It says restaurants can turn tables faster as a result.7
What Square says about online, phone and delivery orders
Square says its streamlined DoorDash integration lets sellers manage menus, pricing and orders from within Square.7 It says multichannel menu management lets sellers edit menus across all locations and channels from one Dashboard.7
On our rate card Square Online: No monthly fee; commission: Not published.
What Square says about taking payments
Square says offline payments work on every Square hardware device, including in Canada.10 It says sellers can turn offline payments on in settings, or when the point of sale detects a connection problem.10 It says sellers then have 24 hours to reconnect and upload the payments.10 Square says offline sales are processed automatically once the seller is back online.10 It says shoppers generally will not notice, and can still pay with their card or a mobile wallet.10
What Square says about Square AI
Square says it launched Square AI in Canada, a built-in assistant for small businesses.5 It says owners can ask plain questions, for example which items sell most at weekends.5 Square says 10 DEAN, a Toronto cafe and bar, had early access to Square AI.5 It says a 10 DEAN regional manager now asks Square AI a question and gets a table built.5
What Square says about its MarketMan inventory integration
Square says Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan is an integration for ingredient and recipe management inside the Square platform.3 It says operators can automate purchase orders, manage suppliers and scan invoices, while tracking waste and loss trends.3 It says sales data from the POS syncs automatically to keep inventory, recipes and reporting accurate.3 Square says sellers log in to the inventory tool with their Square credentials.3 The company says it can forecast ingredient needs from past and live demand.3
What Square says about reservations and guest data
Square says its expanded partnership with OpenTable brings reservations, payments and guest data into one connected view.2 It says restaurants can see transaction data, reservation history and dining preferences for each guest in a unified profile.2 It says restaurants can tie each booking to what the guest spends, how often they return and their lifetime value.2 Square says its point of sale partnership with OpenTable began in 2022.2 Square says the partnership serves restaurants in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland and France.2
What Square says about its Apple Business integration
Square says its Apple Business integration lets sellers connect their locations to Apple Business from Square Dashboard.1 It says hours, address and phone number sync for each connected location, so Apple Maps and other Apple apps stay current.1 Square says sellers can add a logo and manage their brand on Apple Maps place cards from the Dashboard.1 The company says restaurants can add action links on Apple Maps that point customers to Square ordering, pickup, delivery or menu pages.1 It says the integration is available to sellers in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland, France, Spain and Japan.1
What Square says about venues that use it
Square's post says Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corporation switched to Square in 2021.8 It says the group has a lot to manage at Calgary Flames games, which draw 19,000 fans.8 Square says Chickpea Restaurant in Vancouver finds order taking quick and easy on Square Handheld.7
Releases Square has announced
- Square announced an Apple Business integration for its sellers in September 2026.1
- Square announced an expanded partnership with OpenTable in August 2026.2
- Square launched Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan worldwide in April 2026.3
- Square launched Square AI in Canada in March 2026.5
- Square added Seat Management and House Accounts for Canadian restaurants in March 2026.5
- Square introduced a remastered Square Register in February 2026.6
5 earlier releases
- Square launched Square Handheld in Canada in June 2025.7
- Square added Scan to Pay QR codes on receipts in June 2025.7
- Square released its next-generation Point of Sale app in Canada in May 2025.8
- Square launched Square Kiosk in Canada in November 2024.9
- Square brought offline payments to all its hardware devices in May 2024.10
From Square's blog
- Square Integrates Apple Business to Help Local Businesses Stand Out on Apple Maps 24 Sept 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square and OpenTable Deepen Strategic Partnership for Unified Dining, Guest, and Payment Insights 18 Aug 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square and MarketMan Launch Advanced Inventory Management Integration for Restaurants 2 Apr 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Tableside Ordering and Pay-at-Table Technology: A Complete Guide for Modern Restaurants 30 Mar 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Launches Built-In AI Assistant for Canada's Small Businesses 9 Mar 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Evolving With You: How We Reimagined Square Register From the Inside Out 4 Feb 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Make-or-Break Canada Day Weekend Set to Deliver 30%+ Boost for Canada's Bar and Restaurant Owners 18 Jun 2025, read 12 Oct 2026
- Introducing the Next-Generation Square Point of Sale App: A Single, Unified App to Power Commerce and Growth for Every Seller 7 May 2025, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Kiosk Arrives in Canada, Making Ordering Faster and More Intuitive for Restaurants and Diners 7 Nov 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Brings Offline Payments to All Hardware Devices, Around the Globe 29 May 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
Contract and leaving
| Contract | Cancel anytime |
|---|---|
| Notice to cancel | None stated: a Subscription Service can be cancelled at any time from Square Account settings and access continues to the end of the current billing period |
| Renews automatically | Yes, the contract renews automatically |
Leaving early, in Square's words
“You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.”squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
Who owns your customer data
Merchant retains all rights in its Content (photos, logos, products, loyalty programs, promotions); Square gets a broad licence to use it to provide and promote the Services; transaction data ownership is not addressed in these General Terms.
“You grant us and our subsidiaries, affiliates, and successors a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully-paid, transferable, and sub-licensable right to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, prepare derivative works of, distribute, publicly perform, and publicly display your Content throughout the world in any media in order to provide and promote the Services. You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.”squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
Compare Square
Ranked next to it in best restaurant POS systems in Canada
Square: questions owners ask
How much does Square cost in Canada?
Square: Free is free, Plus $35/mo. Square Online: Free is free, Plus $36/mo, billed yearly, Premium $99/mo, billed yearly.
Does Square have a free plan?
Yes: Square's Free plan and Square Online's Free plan have no monthly fee.
What card fees does Square charge?
In person: 2.5%. Online: 2.8% + 30¢.
Does Square take commission on orders?
Square: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Online: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.
Is there a contract with Square?
Cancel anytime.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel Square?
None stated: a Subscription Service can be cancelled at any time from Square Account settings and access continues to the end of the current billing period.
Does Square renew automatically?
Yes, the contract renews automatically.
What does it cost to leave Square early?
There is no fixed term, so there is no early exit fee.
Who owns my customer data on Square?
Merchant retains all rights in its Content (photos, logos, products, loyalty programs, promotions); Square gets a broad licence to use it to provide and promote the Services; transaction data ownership is not addressed in these General Terms.
Do I need to buy hardware for Square?
We did not find a hardware price or hardware terms on Square's own pages.
What does Square connect to?
We did not find an integration list on Square's own pages.
Where does Square rank?
#1 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in Canada, 9.0/10 (as Square). #1 of 10 in best online ordering systems for Canadian restaurants, 8.0/10 (as Square Online).
What are the alternatives to Square?
Ranked next to it: Shopify POS (#2, 8.0/10), Lightspeed Restaurant (#3, 5.0/10).
Where every figure on this page comes from
Square
- Free plan. “Free Sell in person, online, over the phone or out in the field. No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment. $0/mo. + transaction rates” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plus plan. “Plus Get advanced features designed specifically for restaurants, retailers or appointment-based businesses. Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime. $35+/mo.” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Credit card present When a customer taps, inserts or swipes their credit card in person. Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. ##### 2.5% per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “Card not present When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API or pays an invoice online. ##### 2.8% + 30¢ per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “Card not present When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API or pays an invoice online. ##### 2.8% + 30¢ per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the 1st of every month until cancelled.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “You grant us and our subsidiaries, affiliates, and successors a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully-paid, transferable, and sub-licensable right to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, prepare derivative works of, distribute, publicly perform, and publicly display your Content throughout the world in any media in order to provide and promote the Services. You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/ca/en/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Square Online
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # $0 No monthly fees ... Includes: - Website builder with SEO tools - Sync with Square POS and more” squareup.com/ca/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plus plan. “Drive growth and streamline operations. # $36 /mo billed annually ... All Free plan features - Website themes” squareup.com/ca/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Premium plan. “Scale with the best rates and advanced features. # $99 /mo billed annually ... All Plus plan features - Lower processing rate” squareup.com/ca/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Credit card present When a customer taps, inserts or swipes their credit card in person. Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. ##### 2.5% per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “Card not present When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API or pays an invoice online. ##### 2.8% + 30¢ per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “Card not present When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API or pays an invoice online. ##### 2.8% + 30¢ per transaction” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/ca/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “Unless otherwise provided in a Subscription Service’s terms, Subscription Fees will be charged on the 1st of every month until cancelled.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “You grant us and our subsidiaries, affiliates, and successors a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully-paid, transferable, and sub-licensable right to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, prepare derivative works of, distribute, publicly perform, and publicly display your Content throughout the world in any media in order to provide and promote the Services. You retain all rights in your Content, subject to the rights you granted to us in these General Terms.” squareup.com/ca/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # $0 No monthly fees” squareup.com/ca/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/ca/en/online-store/plans when read on 9 Oct 2026.