Where it ranks
- Plans from $89/mo
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 2.6% + 10¢
- Contract: 90 days notice, renews automatically
Why 5.0
- Contract: 90 days notice, renews automatically
- Price on request only
- Commission not published
Why 1.0
Prices and fees
Lightspeed Restaurant
Point of sale for restaurants from Lightspeed Restaurant.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| StarterSimplify your daily operations. | $89/mo |
| EssentialExceed guest expectations. | $239/mo |
| PremiumConnect all of your departments. | $499/mo |
| In-person card rate | 2.6% + 10¢ |
|---|
Lightspeed Order Anywhere
Online ordering for pickup and delivery from Lightspeed Restaurant.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Plans | Not published |
| In-person card rate | 2.6% + 10¢ |
|---|---|
| Commission on orders | Not published |
What Lightspeed Restaurant says its products do
From 6 posts on Lightspeed Restaurant's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Lightspeed Restaurant's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.
What Lightspeed Restaurant says about its POS and kitchen screen
Lightspeed says its kitchen display lets a restaurant set up screens for each station and filter orders by where they came from.2 Lightspeed says every update made on the POS goes straight to the kitchen display, which keeps kitchen staff informed.2 Lightspeed says its KDS gives real-time order tracking and a blinking screen alert that tells staff when an order needs to move.2 Lightspeed says the Sales summary page in Lightspeed Restaurant shows the most relevant sales figures at a glance, with a Reports section for deeper detail.3 Lightspeed says its Benchmarks and Trends software compares a restaurant's performance with anonymised data from similar restaurants nearby.3
On our rate card Lightspeed Restaurant: From $89/mo; card rate: 2.6% + 10¢.
What Lightspeed Restaurant says about Order Anywhere and delivery
Lightspeed says Order Anywhere is its mobile ordering software for orders placed on and off the premises.5 Lightspeed says restaurants using Order Anywhere can switch between their own drivers and a third party's local couriers on demand.5 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere offers same-day, express and scheduled delivery and lets the restaurant keep its customer data and branding.5 Lightspeed says a restaurant cannot use its own drivers and Uber's drivers simultaneously.5 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere brings orders from every sales channel into the POS, which simplifies workflows and reporting.5 Lightspeed says takeout customers can order through a QR code or a link on the restaurant's website, with pickup either right away or booked up to seven days ahead.5
What Lightspeed says about QR code ordering
Lightspeed describes a flow where a guest scans a QR code, which opens the restaurant's online menu on their phone.4 Lightspeed says the guest then adds items to a cart, places the order and pays on their own device, and the order appears on the POS and server iPads and goes to the kitchen.4 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere lets customers order online for delivery, takeout and tableside.4 Lightspeed says Order Anywhere for K-Series and Order Ahead for L-Series let a restaurant decide when customers can order and change prep and pick-up times at peak hours.4
What Lightspeed says about paying at the table
Lightspeed describes Tableside as a complete POS and payments tool designed to help restaurants move faster.6 Lightspeed says Tableside is currently available only in the United States, to restaurants on Lightspeed Restaurant (K-Series) with Lightspeed Payments.6 Lightspeed says servers can carry Tableside in a back pocket or apron and take orders and payments wherever guests are seated.6 Lightspeed says servers can split bills and take payment at the table, and can name custom tabs so tickets come out with the guest's name.6 Lightspeed says Tableside sends orders to the kitchen instantly, and an item that runs out in the kitchen can no longer be ordered on the device.6 Lightspeed says Tableside takes tap, dip, swipe and mobile wallet payments and has a 24-hour battery.6
What Lightspeed says about Lightspeed Payments
Lightspeed describes its offer as a unified point of sale and payments platform.1 Lightspeed says that because payments are built into the POS, businesses can cut manual entry and spend less time on reconciliation.1 Lightspeed's blog quotes an owner who says guests can leave tips on the payment terminal and that tip suggestions are set in the back office.1 Lightspeed says that with POS and payment data in one place, businesses get sales reporting that simplifies their financial operations.1
Releases Lightspeed Restaurant has announced
- Lightspeed said in May 2024 that Order Anywhere is now integrated with Uber Direct, adding on-demand courier delivery alongside a restaurant's own drivers.5
From Lightspeed Restaurant's blog
- 8 Benefits of Lightspeed Payments: Insights From Business Owners, For Business Owners 20 Aug 2025, read 12 Oct 2026
- How to Master Your Kitchen’s Order Flow 7 Nov 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- 3 Essential Restaurant Reports To Keep You On Track 28 Oct 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- How to Implement QR Code Ordering in Your Restaurant 17 Jul 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- Why Flexible Delivery is the Future of Hospitality 22 May 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
- How Lightspeed Tableside Keeps Service Hustling (and Staff Happy) 13 Feb 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
Contract and leaving
| Contract | 90 days notice, renews automatically |
|---|---|
| Notice to cancel | Written notice at least 90 days before the end of the Current Term where the Current Term is more than 90 days |
| Renews automatically | Yes, the contract renews automatically |
| Early exit fee | Early Termination Fee: unpaid non-recurring fees, plus all recurring fees that would have fallen due for the rest of the Current Term, plus the difference between list price and any discounted software or hardware price |
| Hardware terms | Hardware is bought at the Order Form price; discounted or free hardware requires staying a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months, otherwise the merchant repays the hardware plus shipping |
Leaving early, in Lightspeed Restaurant's words
“Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term”lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
Who owns your customer data
Merchant retains all right, title and interest in Customer Content; Lightspeed holds a broad licence to use it, including aggregate and de-identified insights.
“Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products”lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement, read 9 Oct 2026
Compare Lightspeed Restaurant
Ranked next to it in best restaurant POS systems in Canada
Lightspeed Restaurant: questions owners ask
How much does Lightspeed Restaurant cost in Canada?
Lightspeed Restaurant: Starter $89/mo, Essential $239/mo, Premium $499/mo. Lightspeed Order Anywhere: Lightspeed Restaurant gives a price only on request.
Does Lightspeed Restaurant have a free plan?
No. We did not find a free plan on Lightspeed Restaurant's own pages.
What card fees does Lightspeed Restaurant charge?
In person: 2.6% + 10¢.
Does Lightspeed Restaurant take commission on orders?
Lightspeed Restaurant: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Lightspeed Order Anywhere: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.
Is there a contract with Lightspeed Restaurant?
90 days notice, renews automatically.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel Lightspeed Restaurant?
Written notice at least 90 days before the end of the Current Term where the Current Term is more than 90 days.
Does Lightspeed Restaurant renew automatically?
Yes, the contract renews automatically.
What does it cost to leave Lightspeed Restaurant early?
Early Termination Fee: unpaid non-recurring fees, plus all recurring fees that would have fallen due for the rest of the Current Term, plus the difference between list price and any discounted software or hardware price. The clause is quoted in full on this page.
Who owns my customer data on Lightspeed Restaurant?
Merchant retains all right, title and interest in Customer Content; Lightspeed holds a broad licence to use it, including aggregate and de-identified insights.
Do I need to buy hardware for Lightspeed Restaurant?
Hardware is bought at the Order Form price; discounted or free hardware requires staying a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months, otherwise the merchant repays the hardware plus shipping.
What does Lightspeed Restaurant connect to?
We did not find an integration list on Lightspeed Restaurant's own pages.
Where does Lightspeed Restaurant rank?
#3 of 10 in best restaurant POS systems in Canada, 5.0/10 (as Lightspeed Restaurant). #7 of 10 in best online ordering systems for Canadian restaurants, 1.0/10 (as Lightspeed Order Anywhere).
What are the alternatives to Lightspeed Restaurant?
Ranked next to it: Square (#1, 9.0/10), Shopify POS (#2, 8.0/10), Goopter (#4, 4.0/10).
Where every figure on this page comes from
Lightspeed Restaurant
- Starter plan. “Starter Simplify your daily operations. 89 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Essential plan. “Essential Exceed guest expectations. 239 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Premium plan. “Premium Connect all of your departments. 499 CAD /mo” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per card payment. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “this Agreement will automatically renew for a duration equal to the Initial Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “until terminated by Customer or Lightspeed by delivery of written notice to the other party at least (i) where the Current Term is more than ninety (90) days, ninety (90) days prior to the end of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “You agree that any discounted or free hardware requires you to remain a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months. If you stop using your Lightspeed Product or Lightspeed Payments before then, or if you don’t start processing with Lightspeed Payments in 30 days, if applicable, you’ll need to pay us back for the hardware plus shipping costs.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/ when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Lightspeed Order Anywhere
- In-person card rate. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per card payment. “Integrated payments (2.6% + 10¢)” lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Automatic renewal. “this Agreement will automatically renew for a duration equal to the Initial Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “until terminated by Customer or Lightspeed by delivery of written notice to the other party at least (i) where the Current Term is more than ninety (90) days, ninety (90) days prior to the end of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Early exit fee. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Leaving early, from the terms. “Customer will be charged an early termination fee calculated as the sum of: (i) any non-recurring Fees relating to the terminated Agreement(s) which have not been paid to Lightspeed as of the effective date of termination; and (ii) any recurring Fees under the Agreement that would have otherwise become due during the remainder of the Current Term” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Who owns your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Your data, from the terms. “Customer retains all right, title, and interest in the Customer Content. Customer grants Lightspeed a worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, and non-exclusive license to use, access, copy, reproduce, modify, create derivative works of, publish, communicate, transmit, translate, display, and/or otherwise exploit the Customer Content for the purpose of providing, operating, promoting, or improving the Products” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Hardware terms. “You agree that any discounted or free hardware requires you to remain a Lightspeed customer for at least 24 months. If you stop using your Lightspeed Product or Lightspeed Payments before then, or if you don’t start processing with Lightspeed Payments in 30 days, if applicable, you’ll need to pay us back for the hardware plus shipping costs.” lightspeedhq.com/legal/lightspeed-service-agreement/, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/order-anywhere/ when read on 9 Oct 2026.