Square in the UK: prices, fees and contract
Free till app and card readers from Square.

Where it ranks
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.75%
- Cancel anytime
Why 9.5
- No monthly fee
- All plan prices published
- Cancel anytime
- Commission not published
Why 8.0
- Card rate 1.4% + 25p
- Cancel anytime
- Not every price is published
- Commission not published
Why 5.0
- Card rate 1.4% + 25p
- Cancel anytime
- Price on request only
- Commission not published
Why 4.0
- Plans from £35 per device a month
- All plan prices published
- Card rate 1.75%
- Cancel anytime
Why 8.5
- Plans from £20/mo, billed yearly
- All plan prices published
- Cancel anytime
- Commission not published
Why 7.5
Prices and fees
Square
Free till app and card readers from Square.
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Freeno setup or monthly fees; pay only processing fees | Free |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 1.4% + 25p |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
Square Online
Square's online ordering site.

| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Freeturn your business into an online business; website builder with SEO tools and sync with Square POS | Free |
| Plusdrive growth and streamline operations; all Free plan features plus website themes | £20/mo, billed yearly |
| Premiumscale with the best rates and advanced features; all Plus plan features plus a lower processing rate | £64/mo, billed yearly |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 1.4% + 25p |
| Commission on orders | Not published |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
Square QR code menu and ordering
Square's QR code order and pay.

“Simplify taking food orders with QR code menus QR codes make it easier to place self-service food orders directly from the menu and make services run faster and more smoothly to improve the experience for both your customers and your staff.”Square QR code menu and ordering, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Plans | Not published |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 1.4% + 25p |
| Commission on orders | Not published |
| Fees per order | 1.4% + 25p card; commission not published |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
Square tableside ordering and payments
Square's pay at table.

“Take orders and payments tableside with the Square POS app on Square Terminal.”Square tableside ordering and payments, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Plans | Not published |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 1.4% + 25p |
| Commission on orders | Not published |
| Fees per order | 1.4% + 25p card; commission not published |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
Square Kiosk
Square's self-order kiosk.

“Kiosk Shorten waiting times, free up staff and let customers build their own orders with a customisable, iPad-run device.”Square Kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Square Kiosk softwareSquare Kiosk app; free 30-day trial for new customers using Square Point of Sale or the Free and Plus plans of Square for Restaurants POS; hardware not included | £35 per device a month |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
Square Online Preorders
Square's online pre-ordering.

“Preorders PLUS Better control your inventory processes and give customers more convenience by letting them order items in advance for a specific date and time in the future.”Square Online Preorders, read 12 Oct 2026
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| Pluspreorders: let customers order items for a specific date and time in the future | £20/mo, billed yearly |
| Premiumall Plus features including preorders, with a lower processing rate | £64/mo, billed yearly |
| In-person card rate | 1.75% |
|---|---|
| Online card rate | 1.4% + 25p |
| Commission on orders | Not published |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Hardware from | From £19 |
What Square says its products do
From 10 posts on Square's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Square's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.
What Square says about its point of sale app
Square says Square for Restaurants is live in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Spain and Australia.4 Square says its restaurant, retail and appointments software now lives in one Point of Sale app for UK businesses.9 It says the upgraded app adds personalised layouts and smarter workflows.9 Square says its multichannel menu management lets sellers edit menus across all locations and channels from one Dashboard.9
On our rate card Square: No monthly fee; card rate: 1.75%.
What Square says about the Square Register
Square says it launched a second generation of the Square Register, its flagship countertop POS.7 It says the new Register runs up to 40% faster, with a faster processor, more memory and an upgraded Wi-Fi antenna.7 Square says the hardware is rated IP54 and has a reinforced card slot to cope with everyday spills, splashes and dust.7 It says the unified Square Point of Sale app sits at the core of the Register.7 Square says sellers use the countertop device for payments, kitchen tickets, online orders, delivery schedules and inventory.7
What Square says about Square Handheld and tableside service
Square says Square Handheld launched in the UK for food and beverage sellers.9 It says the device weighs 0.31 kg and is 1.5 cm thick.9 Square says it supports Wi-Fi and offline payments, and has a battery that lasts all day.9 It says waiters can skip trips between tables and the counter, which helps them turn tables faster at peak times.9 Square says its Item Splitting feature helps staff split a bill among guests.9
On our rate card Square tableside ordering and payments: Not published; fees per order: 1.4% + 25p card; commission not published.
What Square says about Square Kiosk
Square says Square Kiosk is a self-service ordering system that combines software, hardware and payments.10 It says guests choose their items and any customisations are sent straight to the kitchen.10 Square says the kiosk takes contactless and chip payments.10 It says it works with Square for Restaurants and syncs menu updates instantly, so customers see what is currently available.10 Square's blog says the kiosk can go on a wall, a counter or a floor stand to suit the space.3
On our rate card Square Kiosk: From £35 per device a month; card rate: 1.75%.
What Square says about QR code ordering and Scan to Pay
Square says its QR code ordering and Square Handheld both connect ordering with payment.5 It says guests use their own smartphones for QR code ordering.5 Square says orders from the table reach the kitchen at once when a venue uses Square for Restaurants.5 Square says its Scan to Pay QR codes on receipts let customers scan and settle up without waiting for a server.9 It says restaurants can turn tables faster as a result.9
On our rate card Square QR code menu and ordering: Not published; fees per order: 1.4% + 25p card; commission not published.
What Square says about Square AI
Square says it launched Square AI in the UK, a conversational AI assistant built into the Square platform.6 It says owners can type plain questions, for example how this year's sales compare with last year's, and get answers.6 It says Square AI can pin AI-generated charts so key trends stay visible.6 Square says it combines a seller's own data with local information such as weather and events.6 It says conversation history lets owners revisit earlier questions, and the Dashboard app gives mobile access.6
What Square says about its MarketMan inventory integration
Square says Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan is an integration for ingredient and recipe management inside the Square platform.4 It says operators can automate purchase orders, manage suppliers and scan invoices, while tracking waste and loss trends.4 It says sales data from the POS syncs automatically to keep inventory, recipes and reporting accurate.4 Square says sellers log in to the inventory tool with their Square credentials.4 The company says it can forecast ingredient needs from past and live demand.4
What Square says about reservations and guest data
Square says its expanded partnership with OpenTable brings reservations, payments and guest data into one connected view.2 It says restaurants can see transaction data, reservation history and dining preferences for each guest in a unified profile.2 It says restaurants can tie each booking to what the guest spends, how often they return and their lifetime value.2 Square says its ResDiary integration lets restaurants manage and accept table reservations.9 It says deposits taken through OpenTable and ResDiary can be imported into Square Point of Sale and deducted from the bill automatically.9
What Square says about its Apple Business integration
Square says its Apple Business integration lets sellers connect their locations to Apple Business from Square Dashboard.1 It says hours, address and phone number sync for each connected location, so Apple Maps and other Apple apps stay current.1 Square says sellers can add a logo and manage their brand on Apple Maps place cards from the Dashboard.1 The company says restaurants can add action links on Apple Maps that point customers to Square ordering, pickup, delivery or menu pages.1 It says the integration is available to sellers in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland, France, Spain and Japan.1
What Square says about venues that use it
Square says Brickwood Coffee & Bread, a South London cafe group, used Square AI during early access.6 Square says The JMHG Group, an independent hospitality group in South West London, runs its payments, staff, inventory and reporting on Square.8 It says the group uses Square Handheld to serve customers faster at peak times.8 Square says its Square Loans product gave The JMHG Group a quick injection of capital for growth.8 It says Square's data lets the group compare performance across locations in real time.8
Releases Square has announced
- Square announced an Apple Business integration for its sellers in September 2026.1
- Square announced an expanded partnership with OpenTable in August 2026.2
- Square launched Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan worldwide in April 2026.4
- Square launched Square AI in the UK in February 2026.6
- Square released a second-generation Square Register in February 2026.7
- Square brought its unified Point of Sale app to UK sellers in June 2025.9
5 earlier releases
- Square launched Square Handheld in the UK in June 2025.9
- Square added Item Splitting for bills in June 2025.9
- Square added Scan to Pay QR codes on receipts in June 2025.9
- Square added a ResDiary integration for table reservations in June 2025.9
- Square launched Square Kiosk in the UK in October 2024.10
From Square's blog
- Square Integrates Apple Business to Help Local Businesses Stand Out on Apple Maps 24 Sept 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square and OpenTable Deepen Strategic Partnership for Unified Dining, Guest, and Payment Insights 18 Aug 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- What Is a Self-Service Kiosk and How Do They Work? 17 Jun 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square and MarketMan Launch Advanced Inventory Management Integration for Restaurants 2 Apr 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Tableside Ordering and Pay-at-Table Technology: A Complete Guide for Modern Restaurants 26 Mar 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Introducing Square AI: helping UK small businesses turn instinct into confident decisions 10 Feb 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Second-generation Square Register delivers more speed, power and reliability to the neighbourhood 5 Feb 2026, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Powers Growth and Innovation for The JMHG Group Across London's Hospitality Scene 2 Oct 2025, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Handheld launches in the UK, powering growth for restaurants 24 Jun 2025, read 12 Oct 2026
- Square Kiosk Launches in the UK 22 Oct 2024, read 12 Oct 2026
Square in pictures
From Square's own website, credited to the page each one came from.




Contract and leaving
| Contract | Cancel anytime |
|---|---|
| Notice to cancel | None stated: the merchant may terminate at any time from Square Account Settings |
Compare Square
- Storekit vs Square Online
- Square vs SumUp POS
- Square vs Epos Now
- Square vs PayPal POS (Zettle)
- Toast vs Square
Ranked next to it in best EPOS systems for UK restaurants
Square: questions owners ask
How much does Square cost in the UK?
Square: Free is free. Square Online: Free is free, Plus £20/mo, billed yearly, Premium £64/mo, billed yearly. Square QR code menu and ordering: Square gives a price only on request. Square tableside ordering and payments: Square gives a price only on request. Square Kiosk: Square Kiosk software £35 per device a month. Square Online Preorders: Plus £20/mo, billed yearly, Premium £64/mo, billed yearly.
Does Square have a free plan?
Yes: Square's Free plan, Square Online's Free plan, Square QR code menu and ordering, Square tableside ordering and payments, Square Kiosk and Square Online Preorders have no monthly fee.
What card fees does Square charge?
In person: 1.75%. Online: 1.4% + 25p.
Does Square take commission on orders?
Square: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Online: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square QR code menu and ordering: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square tableside ordering and payments: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Kiosk: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Online Preorders: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.
Is there a contract with Square?
Cancel anytime.
How much notice do I need to give to cancel Square?
None stated: the merchant may terminate at any time from Square Account Settings.
Does Square renew automatically?
We did not find a renewal term on Square's own pages.
What does it cost to leave Square early?
There is no fixed term, so there is no early exit fee.
Who owns my customer data on Square?
We did not find a data ownership term on Square's own pages.
Do I need to buy hardware for Square?
Hardware from £19.
What does Square connect to?
We did not find an integration list on Square's own pages.
Where does Square rank?
#1 of 10 in best EPOS systems for UK restaurants, 9.5/10 (as Square). #2 of 8 in best online ordering systems for UK restaurants and takeaways, 8.0/10 (as Square Online). #3 of 10 in best order and pay systems for UK restaurants, 5.0/10 (as Square QR code menu and ordering). #2 of 9 in best pay at table systems for UK restaurants, 4.0/10 (as Square tableside ordering and payments). #1 of 10 in best self-order kiosks for UK restaurants, 8.5/10 (as Square Kiosk). #2 of 10 in best pre-order and catering ordering systems in the UK, 7.5/10 (as Square Online Preorders).
What are the alternatives to Square?
Ranked next to it: PayPal POS (Zettle) (#2, 9.5/10), SumUp POS (#3, 7.5/10).
Is Square Online better than Storekit?
On our score, Square Online has 8.0/10 and Storekit 8.0/10. They are level. The head to head compares them line by line.
Is Square better than SumUp POS?
On our score, Square has 9.5/10 and SumUp POS 7.5/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.
Is Square better than Epos Now?
On our score, Square has 9.5/10 and Epos Now 7.0/10. Square scores higher on published price and terms. The head to head compares them line by line.
Where every figure on this page comes from
Square
- Free plan. “Sell in person, online, over the phone or out in the field. No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment. £0 /mo \+ processing fees” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Square Online
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # £0 No monthly fees ... Includes: - Website builder with SEO tools - Sync with Square POS and more” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Plus plan. “Drive growth and streamline operations. # £20 /mo billed annually ... All Free plan features - Website themes” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Premium plan. “Scale with the best rates and advanced features. # £64 /mo billed annually ... All Plus plan features - Lower processing rate” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “Turn your business into an online business. # £0 No monthly fees” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 9 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans when read on 9 Oct 2026.
Square QR code menu and ordering
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Simplify taking food orders with QR code menus QR codes make it easier to place self-service food orders directly from the menu and make services run faster and more smoothly to improve the experience for both your customers and your staff.” squareup.com/gb/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/features/qr-code-menu, read 12 Oct 2026
- Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.
Square tableside ordering and payments
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Take orders and payments tableside with the Square POS app on Square Terminal.” squareup.com/gb/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/full-service, read 12 Oct 2026
- Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.
Square Kiosk
- Square Kiosk software plan. “New Kiosk customers receive a free 30-day trial when using Square Point of Sale or Free and Plus plans of Square for Restaurants POS. Cost thereafter is £35 per month, per device.” squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “1.75% per contactless or chip and PIN payment” squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Kiosk Shorten waiting times, free up staff and let customers build their own orders with a customisable, iPad-run device.” squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/kiosk when read on 12 Oct 2026.
Square Online Preorders
- Plus plan. “Drive growth and streamline operations. # £20 /mo billed annually ... | **Preorders** _Let customers order items for a specific date and time in the future._ | **No** | **Yes** | **Yes** |” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 12 Oct 2026
- Premium plan. “Scale with the best rates and advanced features. # £64 /mo billed annually ... | **Preorders** _Let customers order items for a specific date and time in the future._ | **No** | **Yes** | **Yes** |” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 12 Oct 2026
- In-person card rate. “Take any contactless, mobile or chip and PIN payment at the counter or on the go. 1.75% for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Online card rate. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Fixed fee per online payment. “When a customer makes a purchase through your Online Store, Online Checkout, eCommerce API. 1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Contract, as the pricing page states it. “Upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Cheapest hardware. “£19 + VAT” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- Notice period, from the terms. “You may terminate these General Terms or any Additional Terms at any time from your Square Account Settings.” squareup.com/gb/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
- Free plan. “No setup fees or monthly fees - only pay when you take a payment.” squareup.com/gb/en/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
- What the vendor says it sells. “Preorders PLUS Better control your inventory processes and give customers more convenience by letting them order items in advance for a specific date and time in the future.” squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans, read 12 Oct 2026
- Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans when read on 12 Oct 2026.