Home / Australia / Square

Square in Australia: prices, fees and contract

Point of sale for hospitality venues from Square.

Everything on this page is read from Square's own website, last on 12 Oct 2026. We have not used Square ourselves, so this page covers price and terms, not how it feels to use.

Where it ranks

  • No monthly fee
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 1.6%
  • No long-term contract

Why 9.5

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
  • Fees1.5/2Card rate 1.6%
  • Contract3/3No long-term contract
  • No monthly fee
  • All plan prices published
  • No long-term contract
  • Commission not published

Why 8.0

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price3/3No monthly fee
  • Fees0/2Commission not published
  • Contract3/3No long-term contract
  • Plans from $45 per device a month
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 1.6%
  • No long-term contract

Why 8.5

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price2/3From $45 per device a month
  • Fees1.5/2Card rate 1.6%
  • Contract3/3No long-term contract
5.8/10
  • All plan prices published
  • Card rate 1.6%
  • No long-term contract
  • Commission not published

Why 5.8

  • Prices published2/2All plan prices published
  • Entry price0/3No plan price published
  • Fees0.75/21.6% card; commission not published
  • Contract3/3No long-term contract

Prices and fees

Square

Point of sale for hospitality venues from Square.

Square plans
PlanPrice
Freeunlimited countertop POS devices and unlimited locations; processing fees applyFree
Pluscourse management, live sales reporting, unlimited countertop POS and Square KDS devices, 24/7 phone support; +$50/mo per location for locations using mobile POS$129 per location a month
Square fees
In-person card rate1.6%
Online card rate2.2%
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $149

Square Online

Online ordering for pickup and delivery from Square.

Square Online plans
PlanPrice
Freeturn your business into an online business; website builder with SEO tools and sync with Square POSFree
Plusdrive growth and streamline operations; all Free plan features plus website themes$36/mo, billed yearly
Premiumscale with the best rates and advanced features; all Plus plan features plus a lower processing rate$99/mo, billed yearly
Square Online fees
In-person card rate1.6%
Online card rate2.2%
Commission on ordersNot published
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $149

Square Kiosk

Self-order kiosks from Square.

“With a range of mounting options, you can put a self-serve ordering kiosk exactly where it makes sense for your unique space and your flow of business.”Square Kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
Square Kiosk plans
PlanPrice
Square Kiosk app subscriptionSquare Kiosk app: instant menu updates and real-time sales data in sync with Square POS$45 per device a month
Square Kiosk fees
In-person card rate1.6%
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $149

Square Handheld

Paying the bill at the table from Square.

“Take tableside orders. Process payments. Manage inventory.”Square Handheld, read 12 Oct 2026
Square Handheld plans
PlanPrice
PlansNot published
Square Handheld fees
In-person card rate1.6%
Commission on ordersNot published
Fees per order1.6% card; commission not published
Free planYes
Hardware fromFrom $349

What Square says its products do

From 10 posts on Square's own blog, read 12 Oct 2026. Each sentence is Square's claim in our words, numbered to the post it comes from. We have not used these systems.

What Square says about its point of sale app

Square says Square for Restaurants is live in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Spain and Australia.4 Square says its updated Point of Sale app has seven modes, each a set of features and settings for a type of business.7 It says three modes are for food and beverage: full service, quick service and bar.7 Square says bar mode handles tabs and can attach each one to a seat or a customer.7 The company says the Dashboard app shows live sales data and reports on a phone, and lets owners adjust staff hours.7

On our rate card Square: No monthly fee; card rate: 1.6%.

What Square says about the Square Register

Square says it launched a second generation of the Square Register, its flagship countertop POS.6 It says the new Register runs up to 40% faster, with a faster processor, more memory and an upgraded Wi-Fi antenna.6 Square says the hardware is rated IP54 and has a reinforced card slot to cope with everyday spills, splashes and dust.6 Square says sellers use the countertop device for payments, kitchen tickets, online orders, delivery schedules and inventory.6 It says Australian buyers can also get the Register from retail partners including Officeworks, JB Hi-Fi and Costco from March 2026.6

What Square says about Square Handheld and tableside service

Square says it launched Square Handheld in Australia so businesses can serve on the move.8 It says the device weighs just over 300 grams and is IP54-rated against splashes and dust.8 Square says Square Handheld has built-in barcode scanning and a 16 megapixel camera for product photos.8 It says staff can take orders table-side, scan stock in the storeroom or finalise a sale on the retail floor.8 Square says Lunetta, a Canberra restaurant, uses it to take payments and orders at the table.8

On our rate card Square Handheld: Not published; fees per order: 1.6% card; commission not published.

What Square says about Square Kiosk

Square says Square Kiosk is a self-serve ordering system with software, hardware and payments built in.9 It says the kiosk launched through an early access program and works with Square Point of Sale software.9 Square says the kiosk mounts on a wall, sits flat on the counter, or fits a VESA compatible stand or swing-arm.9 It says the kiosk syncs menu updates instantly, so customers see what is currently available.9 Square says the Melbourne takeaway pasta bar Pasta Prego was an early Australian user of the kiosk.9

On our rate card Square Kiosk: From $45 per device a month; card rate: 1.6%.

What Square says about online, phone and delivery orders

Square says restaurants can offer delivery from their own Square Online ordering page and link it to their POS and kitchen systems.8 It says its On-Demand Delivery is meant to cut high commission fees while giving restaurants control over their delivery operations.8

On our rate card Square Online: No monthly fee; commission: Not published.

What Square says about taking payments

Square says offline payments work on every Square hardware device, including in Australia.10 It says sellers can turn offline payments on in settings, or when the point of sale detects a connection problem.10 It says sellers then have 24 hours to reconnect and upload the payments.10 Square says offline sales are processed automatically once the seller is back online.10 It says shoppers generally will not notice, and can still pay with their card or a mobile wallet.10

What Square says about Square AI

Square says it launched Square AI in Australia, a conversational AI assistant built into the Square platform.3 It says owners can type plain questions, for example how this year's sales compare with last year's, and get answers.3 It says Square AI can pin AI-generated charts so key trends stay visible.3 Square says it combines a seller's own data with local information such as weather and events.3 It says conversation history lets owners revisit earlier questions, and the Dashboard app gives mobile access.3

What Square says about its MarketMan inventory integration

Square says Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan is an integration for ingredient and recipe management inside the Square platform.4 It says operators can automate purchase orders, manage suppliers and scan invoices, while tracking waste and loss trends.4 It says sales data from the POS syncs automatically to keep inventory, recipes and reporting accurate.4 Square says sellers log in to the inventory tool with their Square credentials.4 The company says it can forecast ingredient needs from past and live demand.4

What Square says about reservations and guest data

Square says its expanded partnership with OpenTable brings reservations, payments and guest data into one connected view.2 It says restaurants can see transaction data, reservation history and dining preferences for each guest in a unified profile.2 It says restaurants can tie each booking to what the guest spends, how often they return and their lifetime value.2 Square says its point of sale partnership with OpenTable began in 2022.2 Square says the partnership serves restaurants in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland and France.2

What Square says about its Apple Business integration

Square says its Apple Business integration lets sellers connect their locations to Apple Business from Square Dashboard.1 It says hours, address and phone number sync for each connected location, so Apple Maps and other Apple apps stay current.1 Square says sellers can add a logo and manage their brand on Apple Maps place cards from the Dashboard.1 The company says restaurants can add action links on Apple Maps that point customers to Square ordering, pickup, delivery or menu pages.1 It says the integration is available to sellers in the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, Canada, Ireland, France, Spain and Japan.1

What Square says about venues that use it

Square says Butter, a Surry Hills fried chicken and sneaker store, was one of the first Australian businesses to use Square AI.3 Square says The Pancake Parlour has chosen Square as its platform across 13 restaurants.5 It says the group uses Square Register, Terminal and iPads for in-store service, plus Square Handheld for tableside ordering.5 Square says a Kitchen Display System links floor and kitchen teams, and reporting covers all 13 locations.5 The company says the move took eight days and cut POS training from two hours to 45 minutes.5

Releases Square has announced

  • Square announced an Apple Business integration for its sellers in September 2026.1
  • Square announced an expanded partnership with OpenTable in August 2026.2
  • Square launched Square AI in Australia in April 2026.3
  • Square launched Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan worldwide in April 2026.4
  • Square released a second-generation Square Register in February 2026.6
  • Square updated its Point of Sale and Dashboard apps in July 2025.7
3 earlier releases
  • Square launched Square Handheld in Australia in July 2025.8
  • Square launched Square Kiosk in Australia in September 2024.9
  • Square brought offline payments to all its hardware devices in May 2024.10

Contract and leaving

Square contract
ContractNo long-term contract
Notice to cancelNo notice period stated: a Subscription Service can be cancelled at any time from Square Account settings, with access to the end of the current billing period
Renews automaticallyYes, the contract renews automatically
Early exit feeNone: the General Terms can be terminated at any time by deactivating the Square Account without penalty

Leaving early, in Square's words

“You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.”squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026

Compare Square

Ranked next to it in best POS systems for Australian hospitality

Square: questions owners ask

How much does Square cost in Australia?

Square: Free is free, Plus $129 per location a month. Square Online: Free is free, Plus $36/mo, billed yearly, Premium $99/mo, billed yearly. Square Kiosk: Square Kiosk app subscription $45 per device a month. Square Handheld: Square gives a price only on request.

Does Square have a free plan?

Yes: Square's Free plan, Square Online's Free plan, Square Kiosk and Square Handheld have no monthly fee.

What card fees does Square charge?

In person: 1.6%. Online: 2.2%.

Does Square take commission on orders?

Square: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Online: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Kiosk: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages. Square Handheld: We did not find a commission figure on its own pages.

Is there a contract with Square?

No long-term contract.

How much notice do I need to give to cancel Square?

No notice period stated: a Subscription Service can be cancelled at any time from Square Account settings, with access to the end of the current billing period.

Does Square renew automatically?

Yes, the contract renews automatically.

What does it cost to leave Square early?

None: the General Terms can be terminated at any time by deactivating the Square Account without penalty. The clause is quoted in full on this page.

Who owns my customer data on Square?

We did not find a data ownership term on Square's own pages.

Do I need to buy hardware for Square?

Hardware from $149.

What does Square connect to?

We did not find an integration list on Square's own pages.

Where does Square rank?

#1 of 10 in best POS systems for Australian hospitality, 9.5/10 (as Square). #1 of 10 in best online ordering systems for Australian restaurants, 8.0/10 (as Square Online). #1 of 10 in best self-serve kiosks for Australian venues, 8.5/10 (as Square Kiosk). #3 of 8 in best pay at table systems in Australia, 5.8/10 (as Square Handheld).

What are the alternatives to Square?

Ranked next to it: SumUp POS (#2, 7.0/10), Lightspeed Restaurant (#3, 5.0/10).

Where every figure on this page comes from

Square

  • Free plan. “Get the basics you need for day-to-day service and operations, and only pay when you take a payment. ## $0/month + [processing fees](https://squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing#rates) Unlimited countertop POS devices Unlimited locations” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Plus plan. “Get the basics plus advanced features such as course management, live sales reporting and 24/7 support. ## $129/month per location + [processing fees](https://squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing#rates) Unlimited countertop POS devices +$50/mo. per location for locations using mobile POS Unlimited Square KDS devices 24/7 phone support” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “## In person 1.6% per tap or insert” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Online card rate. “## Online 2.2%” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Contract, as the pricing page states it. “No hidden fees. No long-term contract required.” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “You may terminate the General Terms and Additional Terms applicable to your Square Account at any time by deactivating your Square Account without penalty.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “[Square Stand/iPad POS](https://squareup.com/au/en/hardware/stand) $149 iPad 10.2" not included” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Subscription Fees will be charged on the first day of every month until cancelled.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “Get the basics you need for day-to-day service and operations, and only pay when you take a payment. ## $0/month” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing when read on 9 Oct 2026.

Square Online

Square Kiosk

  • Square Kiosk app subscription plan. “$45 per month, per device” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
  • In-person card rate. “1.6% per tap or insert.” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract, as the pricing page states it. “No hidden fees. No long-term contract required.” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “You may terminate the General Terms and Additional Terms applicable to your Square Account at any time by deactivating your Square Account without penalty.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “$149 or $25 per month over 6 months” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Subscription Fees will be charged on the first day of every month until cancelled.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “Get the basics you need for day-to-day service and operations, and only pay when you take a payment. ## $0/month” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • What the vendor says it sells. “With a range of mounting options, you can put a self-serve ordering kiosk exactly where it makes sense for your unique space and your flow of business.” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/kiosk, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/au/en/hardware/kiosk when read on 12 Oct 2026.

Square Handheld

  • In-person card rate. “1.6% Per tap or insert.” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/handheld, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Contract, as the pricing page states it. “No hidden fees. No long-term contract required.” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Early exit fee. “You may terminate the General Terms and Additional Terms applicable to your Square Account at any time by deactivating your Square Account without penalty.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Cheapest hardware. “Make it yours for $349 Or $30 per month for 12 months” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/handheld, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Notice period, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Automatic renewal. “Subscription Fees will be charged on the first day of every month until cancelled.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Leaving early, from the terms. “You may cancel a Subscription Service at any time from your Square Account settings. If you cancel a Subscription Service, you will continue to have access to that Subscription Service through the end of your then current billing period, but you will not be entitled to a refund or credit for any Subscription Fee already due or paid.” squareup.com/au/en/legal/general/ua, read 9 Oct 2026
  • Free plan. “Get the basics you need for day-to-day service and operations, and only pay when you take a payment. ## $0/month” squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing, read 9 Oct 2026
  • What the vendor says it sells. “Take tableside orders. Process payments. Manage inventory.” squareup.com/au/en/hardware/handheld, read 12 Oct 2026
  • Plan prices, commission on orders: not published. Not stated on squareup.com/au/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing when read on 12 Oct 2026.